Name: Harry
Age: 4 years
View Photos



When you inquire about a dog, the following questions might be helpful:

1. Why are you giving up your dog?

2. Has the dog ever bitten, nipped or 'gone after' anyone?

3. Does it have any health problems? Who is your vet? May I contact him/her?

4. Where did you get the dog? Does it have papers?

5. Does your dog have any training? Is it housebroken? crate trained?

6. Is the dog left alone for long periods? What does it do? Bark? Dig? Chew? Is it an inside or outside dog? Where does it sleep?

7. How does the dog behave with adults, children? Other dogs? Cats?

8. Is your dog mellow? calm? energetic? protective? affectionate?


Handsome Harry is looking for a new home.

Harry is a beautiful 3-4 year old longcoat shepherd, very smart, and loves to be with his person, and go everywhere. He very much enjoys shopping at hardware stores, nurseries, garage sales and Peet's and will wait patiently and quietly outside on leash at places where he cannot go in. He enjoys being with people, is gentle with children and would likely do great with older kids in a family (due to size and quick movements). Harry is a fairly social alpha male, gets along with most small dogs and females and some males when properly introduced unless he feels challenged in some way. He has no leash reactiveness and is a confident dog of moderate energy. He has great eye contact and has some obedience training but needs more work on recall. Very food motivated. He is great in the house and nondestructive, loves toys and belly rubs. Because he is a large alpha male one has to be cautious with him off leash with other large males and wildlife.

I adopted Harry from a shelter in the central valley about 7 months ago and had him neutered and he is current on all shots, He has a food allergy to some grains but now does very well on a grain free kibble and can well digest meats, potatoes, and vegetables (and several goodies!) with no issues.

I think he might do best as an only dog as he likes being the center of attention and prefers to play with me rather than a dog; but would likely be ok with a small mellow female. Because he spends days alone as I work long hours, it would be preferred to have someone who could spend more time with him. I cannot give him the off leash time he needs to really run and get adequate exercise. Private trainers have noted he has very fine qualities that are typical of a large social moderately alpha male. That being said,he needs an experienced GSD owner, a loving one, who can give him the kind of quality
life he deserves. An ideal home would be an individual or a family with older children as
an only dog with a large property where he can run off leash and get plenty of exercise.

To learn more please contact Janie.


Important Note About Dog Descriptions

Please remember that the descriptions of dogs (of Dogs Available) have been written by GSRNC volunteers and are usually based only upon our observation of the dog since the time it was rescued. While we try to provide dog descriptions that are fair and accurate, the nature of our work involves contact with dogs whose background and history are unknown to us. GSRNC cannot warrant or guarantee any dog's future behavior. For example, if we say that a rescue dog gets along with children, cats, or other dogs, this statement is usually based upon the fact that one of our volunteers has observed the dog interacting with his or her own children or pets. While this information may be helpful, we cannot be certain of how a dog will do with the children or pets in your home. If you are considering adopting, we encourage you to come to one of our Adoption Days and meet our rescue dogs. Ultimately, only you can decide whether one of our dogs is right for you.