Name: Jim Hopper
Age: 2 years
View Photos



When you inquire about a dog, the following questions might be helpful:

1. Why are you giving up your dog?

2. Has the dog ever bitten, nipped or 'gone after' anyone?

3. Does it have any health problems? Who is your vet? May I contact him/her?

4. Where did you get the dog? Does it have papers?

5. Does your dog have any training? Is it housebroken? crate trained?

6. Is the dog left alone for long periods? What does it do? Bark? Dig? Chew? Is it an inside or outside dog? Where does it sleep?

7. How does the dog behave with adults, children? Other dogs? Cats?

8. Is your dog mellow? calm? energetic? protective? affectionate?


* Dogs name/sex-Jim Hopper (86 lbs), Male
* Age- 2 years old
* Medical history- up to date on vaccines (5in1, CIV, bordatella, rabies), current heart worm test, blood panel shows he’s healthy and he’s Altered. He was born with 3 legs (missing front left). For the 4th of July I medicated him, he would have been okay without meds, but he gets nervous and I didn’t want him to have a negative experience.
Reason for rehoming- A friend found him roaming the streets with another dog November 2022. I tried finding his original owners, but I had no luck. December 2022 I took him in, but due to having a 4-foot chain link fence, it isn't easy to keep him from barking at people passing by. The city will not allow me to build a 6-foot wood fence since I'm on a corner lot. He is a sweet and loving dog, but I have been afraid to introduce him to my cats. My cats are indoor/outdoor which makes keeping them separated very difficult. I have a newborn on the way and I'm afraid of how he will react around the baby. He loves new people when we are outside of our home, but he is weary of people in our home sometimes. He did great at the vet and he did great being boarded. He is very loving and loyal. He loves to cuddle and enjoys keeping me company. He is the smartest dog I have ever owned, he learns very fast. He is crate trained, knows basic commands (sit, down, stay, okay, leave it). An ideal home for him would allow him indoor and outdoor, must have either property for him to roam or a 6 foot wooden/brick fence, no cats, no small children, and I believe he would do great with other dogs.
Cat friendly? He seems interested in cats when he's on walk, but I have not felt comfortable allowing him around my own cats. He once was close enough to sniff my cat without showing any aggression.

Dog friendly? He gets along with my 1-year-old golden retriever, he seems to like other dogs, but I have never introduced him to other dogs. He does not react to other dogs on walks or if he's approached.
* Small animal friendly? no exposure
* Child friendly? He has been exposed to 6+ year-olds and does great, but he has not been around small children or babies.
* Mandatory Rehoming fee ($50)